Copyright © 2017ESSAA. All rights reserved.

Primary tabs

Ram Nath Kovind becomes the 14th President of India

admin's picture
Submitted by admin on Wed, 26/07/2017 - 17:14


Polling over 65 per cent votes in the electoral college, Mr. Kovind defeated his rival Meira Kumar by over 33,000 votes.

The President-elect Ram Nath Kovind is sworn in as the 14th President of India.

Polling over 65 per cent votes in the electoral college, Mr. Kovind defeated his rival Meira Kumar by over 33,000 votes.

Mr. Kovind is the second Dalit President of India after late President K.R. Narayanan but, more significantly, the first from politically significant Uttar Pradesh and the first person from the Bharatiya Janata Party to hold the office of President since Independence.

As it happened

1:30 p.m. Newly-elected President said the key to India’s success is its diversity and asked people to build a country that is “an economic leader as well as a moral exemplar“. In his first address as President after taking oath at the Central Hall of Parliament, Kovind said there is a need to sculpt an educated, ethical and shared community, and an egalitarian society.

12:30 p.m. The President will now accompany former President to the latter's new residence, 10, Rajaji Marg.

12:28 pm National Anthem is played, marking the end of the swearing-in ceremony.

12:26 p.m. Vice-President Hamid Ansari reads the English translation of Mr. Kovind's speech.

12:25 p.m. At a time when the nation will celebrate its 70th Independence Day, we should ensure that the daughters of the poorest of the poor family should be getting all benefits of development, he says.

He ends the speech saying we have to build an 21st-Century India, providing equal opportunities for all.

Newly sworn in President Ram Nath Kovind, his wife Savita Kovind with former President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Tuesday.   | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy


12:20 p.m. This land of the Buddha will continue to be peaceful, says the President.

12:17 p.m. Every soldier who guards our borders, every farmer, every scientist, every doctor, every entrepreneur who is building a start-up are national builder. Every citizen is a national builder.

12:15 p.m. I come from a mud hut in a remote village, says Mr. Kovind.  I will be carrying out my responsibilities with all humility, says the President.

I will follow the footsteps of Rajendra Prasad, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, APJ Abdul Kalam and my predecessor Pranabda, he says.

12:13 p.m. Ram Nath Kovind makes his maiden address as the President of India. He begins his address by thanking the people of India for having elected him as the President.

"I have earlier been in this Central Hall as a member of Parliament," recalls the President.

12:10 p.m. President Ram Nath Kovind is congratulated by former President Pranab Mukherjee. The leaders swap seats.  The President's Bodyguard cavalcade presents a guard of honour with gun salute.

12:08 p.m. Chief Justice of India J.S. Khehar administers the Oath of Office to President-elect Ram Nath Kovind in Hindi.

12:07 p.m. National Anthem plays.  Swearing-in ceremony begins

12:06 p.m. Seated in the first row are former President Pratibha Patil, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, former Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh, Deve Gowda, senior ministers Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Opposition leaders Sonia Gandhi, Mallikarjun Kharge and others.

12:03 p.m. Vice-President Hamid Ansari, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Chief Justice J.S. Khehar welcome the President and President-elect.  They guide the duo to the Central Hall of Parliament.

12:00 noon And the President's Limousine has arrived at the Parliament premises.  First to alight is President-elect Ram Nath Kovind. Next is President Pranab Mukherjee. They are given the Presidential salute. This is the first Presidential salute for Mr. Kovind and the last one for Mr. Mukherjee.

11:55 a.m. At the Central Hall of Parliament, the Vice-President, the Prime Minister, his cabinet colleagues, and parliamentarians have already arrived.  The President will be sworn in by the Chief Justice of India J.S. Khehar.

11:50 a.m. The President and President-elect descend from the steps on Presidential Palace. They leave for the Central Hall of Parliament, where the swearing-in will take place. They board the Limousine together and the President's cavalcade guides them to the Parliament.

11:40 a.m. President-elect Ramnath Kovind arrives at Rashtrapati Bhavan. He is accompanied by his wife. He is welcomed by the President. Mr. Kovind takes a tour around the Presidential Palace along with Mr. Mukherjee.


President's cavalcade perform a full dress rehearsal ahead of the swearing in ceremony.   | Photo Credit: PTI


11:15 a.m. While the actual swearing-in ceremony will take place in an hour, here is a glimpse of the protocol that is being followed.

The presidential horse-driven coach or “buggy” will arrive at the residence of the President-elect and convey him to Parliament House, where the oath of office will be administered by the Chief Justice of India.

President Mukherjee will then exchange seats with his successor, and after the ceremony leave for his newly allotted bungalow, 10 Rajaji Marg, and the new President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Newly sworn in President Ram Nath Kovind on his maiden "buggy" ride.   | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy

Post Categories: